I tend to think...

by Greg, seemingly ranch, Monday, August 05, 2013, 12:12 (3908 days ago) @ PAK

...that a lot that has been said in this thread and elsewhere on this board about the issue is important to consider. First, that anecdotally at least the greatest probability of a huge return comes against poor competition and that's why fans hold so fast to memories of big returns in big games. Second, that the difference between a "great" return team and a "poor" one is less than 20 yards of field position per game (I like round numbers, and 15 is not round). Third, that the spread punt formation and the manner in which most of the punting team can get downfield quickly have disincentivized punt return prep by making it that much harder to block the punting team, making a return yet that much more difficult. Fourth, that while the punt return practice never took up much more than one period (5 minutes) of a game week team practice when I was a manager under Holtz, I know it took up more time with the coaches planning for it, looking for weaknesses in the opposing team's punt game, and doing pre-season prep with the players so they would all get in the right position and execute correctly.